Microsoft releases second Acrylic preview

Microsoft has posted the second pre-release version of Acrylic, the powerful but difficult-to-use vector/raster drawing application that is the successor to Creature House Expression.

In addition to significant performance improvements and a few new features such as XAML export (XAML is Microsoft’s new language for describing user interfaces that includes support for vector graphics), Microsoft has done some work on the user interface in an effort to improve usability. After playing with this update for a few minutes, however, I’d have to say the UI remains this product’s single biggest weakness.

Ars Technica has reported that the XAML export feature signals a retargeting of the software for use in Windows Vista UI development, and has been renamed with this release to Windows Presentation Foundation User Experience Design Tool, but I’ve been unable to find anything to corroborate this seemingly improbable claim. As far as I can see, the codename Acrylic is still the only official name for the product, and it continues to be pitched as an application for combined vector/raster illustration.

Replay

Category: other Time: 2005-08-19 Views: 0
Tags:

Related post

  • Microsoft Releases Photosynth: Just a Novelty? 2008-08-25

    Ever since Blaise Aguera y Arcas demoed Photosynth last year at the TED Conference, most people who saw it have wanted to get their hands on the software. The demo was, as the TED web site called it, simply jaw dropping. Photosynth was able to take h

  • Why Microsoft released with the same dll/namespace name for the Microsoft.ServiceBus.DLL for Windows Service Bus and Azure Service Bus? 2016-01-27

    Microsoft.ServiceBus.dll -- Vesion 1.0 -- for Windows/Enterprize Service Bus Microsoft.ServiceBus.dll -- Vesion 3.0 -- for Azure Service Bus Why Microsoft release with the same DLL/NameSpace name for two different things? Due to this in my webapplica

  • Microsoft releases Acrylic beta 2005-06-14

    A few weeks back we were pondering what ever happened to 'Creature House's Expression' after Microsoft assimilated it 18 months ago. There was some talk about an upcoming beta, but in the software business the 'upcoming beta' can often be akin to the

  • Microsoft Release Free Anti-Virus Package 2009-10-04

    Anti-virus software is a necessity for all Windows users. If you believe the scary advertising campaigns, all sorts of nastiness will occur the second you switch on your PC. So why is most anti-virus software badly designed, bloated, overly-complex,

  • Why doesn't Microsoft release UX frameworks to build UI's like their current UIs? 2012-07-19

    When I started learning programming with the .NET framework, I started by using WinForms as a UI technology. It uses "classic" menus just like this office 2000: A few years later Office 2007 was released, the ribbon was born: And even some years

  • What time of day does Microsoft Release patches on "Patch Tuesday" 2009-08-11

    I've tried my servers and they don't see the patches that Microsoft has released. Usually Windows Update automatically installs them on Wednesday, so it must be something late in the day -- yet I can't find this info anywhere on either the Wikipedia

  • Zune Last-day-of-leap-year bug - did Microsoft release a fix? 2010-08-28

    When the Zune 30's had the outage on the last day of 2008, there was a side discussion about how long it would take for Microsoft to create a fix. After the dust settled, the problem "fixed itself" because the problem was only for one day. Howev

  • Microsoft Sharepoint Designer 2013 Preview encountered an errod during setup 2013-07-22

    I'm trying to install sharepoint designer 2013. It gives me this error without any further details. I have office 2010 32 bit installed. What is this problem about? --------------Solutions------------- Try to find the released version instead of the

  • Does microsoft release information on environment variables / system variables used in Windows? 2011-10-07

    For example, I was interested in the differences between %WINDIR% and %SYSTEMROOT%. I've googled abit and through some forum digging, I've found out that %WINDIR% and %SYSTEMROOT% refers to the same thing. %WINDIR% is for 9x and %SYSTEMROOT% is for w

  • SitePoint Podcast #53: "I'm here with the booze!" 2010-03-20

    Episode 53 of The SitePoint Podcast is now available! This week your hosts are Stephan Segraves (@ssegraves) and Kevin Yank (@sentience). Listen in your Browser Play this episode directly in your browser! Just click the orange "play" button belo

  • Will be next SharePoint 13/15 have new deploy features? 2012-07-17

    Over the past couple of years I've been making solutions for SharePoint Server and always most important problem was the availability of the web-site. Deployment not-sandboxed solution is pain at least for 30 seconds for each wsp. This operation requ

  • Automate Fn key switch when opening Excel 2015-03-11

    So Microsoft released a free preview of Office for Mac, and it is pretty sweet. One of my biggest problem when using Excel on a mac has always been that the most popular/frequent shortcut (F2 -> edit cell) was not available on macs (there was a defau

  • Bootcamp and Windows 8 don't get along 2011-09-17

    As far as Microsoft vs Apple, I'm in an awkward place. I love them both, but sadly that doesn't mean they love each other. As some of you know, Microsoft released a developer preview of Windows 8 on Tuesday. Being an early adopter, I ran off and blew

  • Can I keep on running Office 2016 preview after official release 2015-09-14

    I'd like to install Microsoft office preview on my windows 10 running computer.Its public preview version is still available and free.I haven't try out any office preview before .On Microsoft's official website says You will be on the Office 2016 Pre

  • How to preview font in-line with Microsoft Word document? 2009-09-21

    In Microsoft Word, you can preview how each font looks very quickly by flipping through the fonts with the arrow keys. But the rendered font appears in a 'Preview' window. Is there a way to quickly flip through the fonts and see the preview in-line i

  • Tool to check Microsoft Patch release dates 2014-05-07

    Our production window to apply any patches is always the 3rd weekend of the month. So in May-14 it would be the weekend of 05/17 and 05/18. Since Microsoft releases the patches always on 2nd Tuesday of every month which is 05/08. Our infrastructure t

  • "This file can't be previewed because of an error in the Microsoft Word previewer." 2014-06-02

    The issue is: Outlook 2013 simply will not give a preview of Word (nor Excel) docs in attachments. Never had the issue with Outlook 2010. Using Outlook 2013 on Windows 7 64bit SSD with Word 2010. I did notice that "Microsoft Word" is not listed

  • How does Windows 10 allow Microsoft to spy on you? 2015-08-13

    Windows 10 is perhaps the most Internet-connected and cloud-centric operating system released by Microsoft to date. This, of course, has caused many users to be concerned about how the OS respects their privacy (or doesn't). Multiple sources are now

  • Windows 8 customer preview, choose what to keep? 2012-07-26

    I'm trying to update Windows 8 from developer preview to customer preview. But I've got a question about 'Choose what to keep.' Actually, there is only one option which is Nothing. So, I'm wondering if I chose Nothing, I would lose other installed ap

iOS development

Android development

Python development

JAVA development

Development language

PHP development

Ruby development

search

Front-end development

Database

development tools

Open Platform

Javascript development

.NET development

cloud computing

server

Copyright (C) avrocks.com, All Rights Reserved.

processed in 0.386 (s). 13 q(s)