Review - Popular Domains

Popular Domains is a Windows program that takes (or generates) a list of domain names and checks their link popularity in a number of search engines. In addition, the latest version detects whether the names are listed in Yahoo and can also reveal their Alexa ratings. As a quick reminder, Alexa is a very cool way of roughly determining how many visitors a Website attracts.

So why would you want to know these things? The answer lies of course in the expired domains industry. Every day thousands of domain names expire due to non-renewal. A fair number of these are valuable because they produce visitors, or are "traffic catchers". If you can re-register some of these names, it’s a great way to generate extra traffic for your own sites.

Cybersquatting?

Before reviewing Popular Domains itself, let’s get the thorny "cybersquatting" issue out of the way — isn’t re-registering expired domain names with built-in traffic just the lowest form of cybersquatting?

To answer that question, we need to analyze why domain names that generate traffic are allowed to expire:

  • Deliberate Expiry – It’s an unfortunate fact of Internet life that Web businesses fail by the truckload every day of the week. Many of these site owners lose all interest in every aspect of their Website — domain name included.
  • Accidental Expiry – When the original registrant wanted to keep the name, but for whatever reason, didn’t pay to renew the name before it got deleted.

The point is that any program that aims to locate domains with high traffic cannot hope to distinguish between these two types of expiry. It is just a tool and cannot be held responsible for how it is (mis)used.

So in the case of accidental expiries, it is the new registrant’s responsibility to choose what to do if the old registrant wants the name back. The decent thing would be to hand the name back for a nominal fee, $100 or less. That way, the old owner gets their Website back, and the new registrant doesn’t lose out.

So How Does It Work?

Popular Domains generates domain names to check in three ways. It can work on:

  • Deleted Domains – This is a very powerful option that searches through a daily-updated database of on-hold and deleted domain names.
  • WHOIS – A less useful option that searches through the Whois database of deleted domains.
  • Custom Domain List – A great option that checks a list of imported domain names. It’s very useful for people that subscribe to expiring domains services such as LocalWhois or have their own way to generate "candidate" domain lists.

As well as being able to select what sort of domains to search through, Popular Domains allows you to customize the types of checks that are performed on each domain, namely:

  1. Incoming Search Engine Links – Specify one or all of the following search engines: Google, Lycos, MSN, All The Web, AltaVista, Hotbot.
  2. Yahoo! Placement – See if the domain is listed in Yahoo! Remember, Yahoo! listings now cost $299 annually!
  3. Alexa Rating – This option utilizes the Alexa ranking system to give a rough idea of how many visitors the site generates.

The Results

By using the powerful Deleted Domains option, anybody can quickly find a number of on-hold domains that have high link popularity, or high traffic or a Yahoo! listing, or all three!

Popular Domains delivers the results smoothly and without fuss. If you have a dial-up link you can expect a long delay if you are analyzing hundreds of domain names. If you have any kind of decent broadband link, however, you should be able to race through big lists in no time at all.

The Verdict

At US$149, Popular Domains is not cheap. But it does offer excellent value for money. Considering that Yahoo! now charge a US$299 annual fee, if you can even register one domain with an existing Yahoo! listing, the program will have already paid for itself. And the Alexa rating search is another great way to find valuable domain names.

As a final reminder, if you register a name and are then contacted by the original owner wanting the name back, do the decent thing and let the name go for a small sum. Go after the "deliberate expiry" names instead. In the case of accidental expiries, it’s very much a case of "there but for the grace of god go I". Good luck!

For more information, or to download Popular Domains, click here.

Replay

Category: web Time: 2002-06-18 Views: 1
Tags:

Related post

  • Resources for popular domain models 2012-09-11

    I have come across many situations where I had to build a system for a library or a clinic or other popular domains. The thing is a domain model for a library was probably done 1000 times already with different level of details of course. Here is an

  • Impact of domain name coinciding with other popular domain 2014-11-17

    I have a website whose name coincides with another popular domain. Meaning if you add two letters at the end of my website name, you get the name of already popular domain. After registering and getting my website running for couple of months i reali

  • Someone has created an account using an email adress in a domain a I own 2012-11-24

    I own "mydomain.com" (actually something else!) and have a catchall to receive all emails sent to any [email protected] Earlier this week I received an email from [email protected] asking me to verify [email protected] This person is

  • The Domain Name Free Ride 2001-06-04

    Every day thousands of domains 'expire' and are put back into the pool of available domains that anyone can register. They can be very valuable if you are looking for a quality domain for your online business, or if you want to re-sell them for profi

  • Buy the Ultimate Domain Name 2002-09-10

    Buying a domain name is not as simple as it sounds. If you buy the right name, Web users will be able to find your site with ease. If you buy the wrong one, they'll be confused, and you'll lose (sometimes, quite a lot of) traffic, which can of course

  • Domain name: REDEMPTIONPERIOD 2010-01-05

    There's a domain name I'm willing to register which has Expiration Date: 30-Oct-2009 and Status:REDEMPTIONPERIOD. Shouldn't it have been already released? Should I just wait or is there anything I could do about this? --------------Solutions---------

  • What can be the impact of non-Latin domain zone launch? 2010-09-23

    Here in Russia we are about to launch a new Cyrillic domain zone, i.e. where you can spell domain names in Cyrillic alphabet instead of Latin. Currently we have a national zone ".ru" which allows only Latin characters. Many people believe that t

  • How to back order domain 2010-10-09

    It seems that information on the topic is a bit sparse in the wild. How do you go about back ordering a domain? If you do find a service that will do it for you, does the current owner of the domain name know that it is back ordered? How does it work

  • I bought a domain name and I just can't configure it to point to my host. How can I do that? 2011-04-16

    I bought a domain today from a brazillian company. I have a hosting account in DiscoutASP that, obviously, gives me the DNS servers: ns1.discountasp.net ns2.discountasp.net ns3.discountasp.net I just needed to configure my domain to point to these DN

  • Do foreign domains, like .ly take longer to resolve? 2011-09-20

    I have a .ly domain I want to get - but my concern is that initial resolution will take longer then a simple .com domain (e.g. when a customer views my site). Or is it just duplicated on domestic name servers, and doesn't matter? --------------Soluti

  • GoDaddy Supports SOPA - Here's How To Transfer Your Domains 2011-12-22

    GoDaddy.com, one of the most popular domain name registrars, has come out in support of SOPA – The Stop Online Piracy Act. Adam Savage, of Mythbusters fame, eloquently summed up SOPA in his Popular Mechanics column: "[SOPA] would allow for the wholes

  • Malicious users trying to create yahoo accounts with random emails at my domain? 2012-02-14

    Recently, I have been getting a string of emails from yahoo with people trying to create accounts or add email addresses @mydomain.tld to their account. I was wondering if anyone else has seen this type of behavior and if they know what type of attac

  • What are the chances a domain doesn't get renewed? 2012-03-27

    All registrars have the "backorder" thing, so they will register the domain for you if the owner doesn't renew. I was wondering how many of the total registered domains get renewed? Are there some statistics about this? --------------Solutions--

  • Help removing my domain from blacklists 2014-07-17

    I bought a domain few days before. but it came to my attention that my domain has been blacklisted by many antivirus programs and search engines as the domain for previously purchased by somebody and he misuse it. Though i have asked few antivirus co

  • What records (DNS, Nameservers etc.) need to be used to map a Domain to a Hosting Server 2014-09-23

    I have a purchased domain that I am trying to create a site on. I have uploaded the files to the public_html folder of the hosting provider's server. I am confused about what all records I need to electronically complete? A couple of Name Servers (no

  • Emails from my domain getting blocked at all other domains 2015-03-06

    This question already has an answer here: How to send emails and avoid them being classified as spam? 6 answers Recently I tried to set up a new email server using iRedMail on Lubuntu. The mail server workes very well when email conversation is in th

  • Flip a Web Site Fixer-upper 2007-03-16

    One of my favorite cable television networks has a show called "Flip that House." The concept is as simple as the work is hard. You buy a house that needs work, do the work, and sell it for a profit. We can do the same thing with web sites, with

  • Google Apps bounces bulk emails 2012-11-20

    I've an [email protected] email address which receives emails from clients and delivers it to various people within my company. However, since today I get the following bounce error message when sending an email to this address: Delivery to the foll

  • Why isn't my site being indexed by Google? 2015-07-08

    Our domain was originally pointing to a Squarespace site that went live in March. In June, the site was rebuilt in WordPress and is currently hosted with WPEngine. Oddly, the site is being indexed by Bing and Yahoo, but is not indexed at all in Googl

iOS development

Android development

Python development

JAVA development

Development language

PHP development

Ruby development

search

Front-end development

Database

development tools

Open Platform

Javascript development

.NET development

cloud computing

server

Copyright (C) avrocks.com, All Rights Reserved.

processed in 1.628 (s). 13 q(s)