Review - Spam Arrest

As a Web professional you probably receive serious amounts of unwanted email in your inbox every day. Especially if you have been using the same email address for a long period — the number of spam messages you have to wade through can get really annoying.

Fight it!

Here’s what I, like many others, have done so far to fight spam:

  1. Sign up for a free email account like Hotmail or Yahoo! and use that address when asked for your email address on a Website. Don’t forget to log in every now and then to delete all the emails and to keep your account alive.
  2. Download and run Mailwasher to fight unwanted emails.

Having a Hotmail or Yahoo! account on the side reduces the amount of unwanted email — but it’s not enough.

Although Mailwasher is a great tool (you can simulate email bounces!) you still have to check your email yourself and add spammers to your blacklist manually. Also, spammers are always getting smarter, and now often use a recipient’s email address as the sender as well. This means you can’t reply or simulate a bounce.

Enter: Spam Arrest

I first came across Spam Arrest after I sent a message to someone using a form on his Website. After I hit the submit button, I found a new message in my inbox that read:

"I’m protecting myself from receiving junk mail.

Just this once, click the link below so I can receive your emails. You won’t have to do this again."

I clicked the link and ended up at Spam Arrest.

How does it work?

Spam Arrest acts as an email server that verifies all incoming mail before it lands in your inbox.

Here’s what happens, step by step:

  1. Someone sends you an email that arrives at your mail server.
  2. Spam Arrest connects to your mail server and downloads the message.
  3. If the sender is on your "authorized senders" list, the message will end up in your inbox next time you hit send/receive in your email client.
  4. If the sender is not on your "authorized senders" list, Spam Arrest will send out on your behalf a message like the one above that asks the sender to click on a link included in the message.
  5. After they click the link, the sender is directed to a page in the Spam Arrest domain. This page automatically generates a word and asks the sender to enter it into a form and submit it. The sender is now verified and added to your "authorized senders" list. Next time he sends you and email it will be directly sent to your inbox.
  6. Your email client connects to the Spam Arrest server and downloads the email waiting for you.

As almost all unwanted email is sent automatically, and the verification process described above needs to be completed manually, the spam will never reach your inbox.

Mailing lists and newsletters

Unlike other Spam filters, Spam Arrest doesn’t block newsletters and other subscription-based emails. The only thing you’ll have to do is add them to your "authorized senders" list by entering the "to" address that’s used by the sender.

Signing up

Spam arrest offers a 30 day free trial period. During the sign up process you’ll need to provide your email address, mail server, username and login. After you complete the process, you’ll need to change the settings for your incoming mail server to the ones provided by Spam Alert.

After you’ve successfully changed the mail server settings in your email client, you’re ready to use Spam Arrest.

Pricing

Spam Arrest is not freeware. You can sign up for the free trial, but after that you’ll have to pay to keep using it.

Spam Arrest costs:

  • $ 19.95 for 6 months
  • $ 34.95 for 1 year
  • $ 54.95 for 2 years

Spam Arrest At A Glance

Pros

  • No software to install
  • You don’t need to scan through your waiting email to filter spam
  • Provides the option to manually add senders to your "authorized senders" list
  • Provides the option to manually add senders to your "blocked senders" list

Cons

  • Connecting to Spam Arrest takes considerably more time than does connecting to your pop server directly
  • There are privacy and security issues: you have to enter your pop-server and our username and password for Spam Arrest to work
  • If you’re behind a firewall, Spam Arrest will let you know that the settings of your email client are not correct

Overall Impression

Spam Arrest seems a simple yet effective solution to fight unwanted email. Personally I know that the time it takes to connect to the Spam Arrest server will eventually start to bug me — and in the end this will probably stop me from using it.

The only question I still have is this: what would happen if the sender and receiver are both using this tool and are not yet verified. Does this cause a loop of verification messages?

Ranking: 4/5
Price: $ 19.95 for 6 months, $ 34.95 for 1 year or $ 54.95 for 2 years.
For more information: http://www.SpamArrest.com/

Replay

Category: business Time: 2002-11-07 Views: 1
Tags:

Related post

  • Review spam messages in Office 365 2014-06-30

    We've just migrated to Office 365, and there's a report on our dashboard that's saying that almost 90% of our incoming mail has been filtered as spam. This seems potentially alarming, and I'd like to review some of the messages. However, I see no mes

  • 10 Fantastic Spam Filtering Solutions 2009-10-26

    No matter how much people hate it, it doesn't seem like spam is going anywhere any time soon. Luckily, there are numerous ways out there to prevent the spam from ever leaving your server, or if you just want to stop it at the mailbox, you can do that

  • How to handle invalid email addresses? 2009-06-19

    My server is windows server 2003. I got a huge list of subscribers. Lots of them have invalid email like, [email protected], [email protected], [email protected] I want to send a email to all my users, but it will send to those invalid email as w

  • Thunderbird complains about RFC 5746 2015-06-21

    I'm getting this error when checking my mail, and I can't download my mail. I recently updated Thundirbird yesterday, but it restarted and was working fine for many hours. I saw this question: How to add an account when Thunderbird warns "potentially

  • Blog Software Smackdown: The Big 3 Reviewed 2005-11-11

    Over the past few years, Weblogs (or blogs) have taken the Web by storm. According to the Wikipedia definition, a Weblog is "a Web application which contains periodic posts on a common Webpage. These posts are often but not necessarily in reverse chr

  • Emails going to spam 2008-08-02

    This is a tricky one and I've always relied on techniques, such as permission-based emails (i.e. only sending to people you have permission to send to) and not using blatantly spamish terminology. Of late, some of the emails I send out programmatical

  • PHPMailer sends email to spam in hotmail 2008-08-02

    This is a tricky one and I've always relied on techniques, such as permission-based emails (i.e. only sending to people you have permission to send to) and not using blatantly spamish terminology. Of late, some of the emails I send out programmatical

  • How to avoid mail being marked as spam in when sent from CodeIgniter 2008-08-02

    This is a tricky one and I've always relied on techniques, such as permission-based emails (i.e. only sending to people you have permission to send to) and not using blatantly spamish terminology. Of late, some of the emails I send out programmatical

  • How to detect form spamming on your web servers? 2009-05-03

    If you run hundred of web sites on your servers, what it is the most efficient, automated way to detect if bots are using your HTML forms to send spam email, even if your forms have some kind of protection? --------------Solutions------------- You sh

  • How to tell spam-assassin not to quarantine tagged emails? 2009-12-09

    I'm running my own postfix mail-server at home with a setup similar to this one. I opted to deliver tagged spam via dovecot to the user's spam-mailbox, so that they can review tagged emails if they wish to; these spam-mailboxes get purged regularly a

  • Exchange 2007 server send out spam 2010-07-25

    Our exchange server is sending out spam, as it has been listed on various spam blacklist and not to sure know how to stop it. I've started with verify SMTP with a site like http://www.pagasa.net/test-smtp-server/, so relay has been ruled out. I start

  • Recommended Spam Best Practices 2010-09-30

    Possible Duplicate: How can I prevent spam on sites which I control? Are there any recommended admin tools or interfaces for reviewing and moderating spam on a community-driven UGC site? --------------Solutions------------- There aren't "best practic

  • Why do I get comment spam even with Akismet and Captcha? 2010-10-16

    I'm a bit perplexed why I keep getting so many spam comments ... Even though I use both the Akismet and WP-reCAPTCHA plugins on my WordPress blog! WP-reCAPTCHA should stop machine entered spam, but I understand spam entered by human beings will still

  • Is there a way to dispute or challenge poor iPhone app reviews? 2011-01-10

    Problem: user has left review of iPhone app which is simply incorrect Question: is there a way to make contact with the reviewer and a) explain how what they've said is incorrect and help them with their issue or b) challenge the review? ------------

  • Spam prevention through IP tracking 2011-02-17

    I am building a website with user generated comments. In order to implement user moderation/spam-protection, users have the ability to mark comments as spam. When one comment is marked as spam, I want all comments from the same IP address to be delet

  • Code Reviews, what are the advantages? 2011-04-27

    In my team, we don't do formal code reviews. We tend to think that it's enough with pair programming and rotating pairs often. Should we consider doing formal code reviews? What would be the advantages? --------------Solutions------------- We do code

  • What happened to all the spam? 2011-06-09

    Don't get me wrong, I'm mostly glad that this happened. However, I want to make sure that the reasons for it happening are sound - rather than there being a problem with our methods. I'd like to illustrate what's going on here with a graph: The brigh

  • Is ReCaptcha a poor anti-spam mechanism? 2011-12-09

    As everyone knows, any website that allows users to submit content to be posted without moderation are subject to all kinds of spam. One of the most popular methods of combatting this is using ReCaptcha. I don't know if I'm alone in this, but I've fo

  • Akismet plugin is deleting spam despite preferences 2011-12-13

    Curiously, Akismet is deleting old spam comments after a period of time (I'm guessing within a week). This box is NOT checked: Auto-delete spam submitted on posts more than a month old. I've sent a message to Akismet support more than a week ago but

iOS development

Android development

Python development

JAVA development

Development language

PHP development

Ruby development

search

Front-end development

Database

development tools

Open Platform

Javascript development

.NET development

cloud computing

server

Copyright (C) avrocks.com, All Rights Reserved.

processed in 0.490 (s). 13 q(s)