Review - Teach Yourself CSS in 24 Hours

Cascading Style Sheets are an essential part of Web development. The benefits of their use greatly outweigh the time that it takes the Web developer to learn how to apply and tweak them for optimal effect in all broswers. In "Teach Yourself CSS in 24 Hours" Kynn Bartlett takes up the challenge of explaining how to use style sheets to create attractive, usable Web designs.

Cover and Contents

When I first got hold of a copy, I was initially struck by the cover! I’m still not quite sure what it is meant to represent, but at least it’s different. A quick flick through the book reassured me that it was easy to read and sections were ordered logically. There were plenty of headings to divide the information up, and code was printed in a different font to body copy, which made it easy to distinguish from the commentary.

I always take a swift glance at the contents list when I first open a book, and this time was no exception. It seemed that it was structured so I could either read the book from beginning to end — if I knew nothing about CSS, or I could go straight to a section that I was interested in if I wanted to brush up my knowledge in that area. Part I is a general introduction to CSS. Part II begins by explaining the CSS Box Model and the inheriting properties of CSS classes ("The Core Principles of CSS"). Part III continues with styling text, backgrounds, lists, tables, and general page layout and Web design using Cascading Style Sheets.

Does It Deliver?

I have never actually followed a book that claimed that the author could teach me something in 24 hours, so I was, naturally, a little doubtful that this one could. However, as I discovered, this book can have a beginner up and running within just a few hours. The first two hours will see any reader versed in the hows and whys of Cascading Style Sheets, and creating a working style sheet with enough of oomph to keep even the most demanding students happy.

The key to successful CSS implementation is in understanding how various browsers use and interpret CSS. This book takes the unique position of teaching the reader how to make clever judgments about how and when to apply CSS, based on browser support and the anticipated effects of their decisions. I really liked this approach — after all, the key to future-proofing any Website is to make sure it works in as many platforms and browsers as possible.

My favourite chapter in this book has got to be the one on Accessibility and Internationalisation. I really like the way the author takes the World Wide Web Consortium’s Web Content Accessibility Guidelines and provides a solution in Cascading Style Sheets. CSS enables wide user access — and there are many features in the language that can be used to benefit those with visual disabilities.

This chapter also contains a brief overview of aural CSS properties. I did feel that the book could have done with a more detailed insight into aural style sheets — even if they are currently not supported by many browsers …But maybe the author is saving that topic for his next book!

All in all this is a must-buy for anyone who wants to learn how to use Cascading Style Sheets properly, and how to make them work in as many different situations as possible. It’s a fantastic book for a beginner, or anyone who already knows some CSS and wants to brush up their knowledge.

Title: Teach Yourself CSS in 24 Hours – Buy it at Amazon.com
Author: Kynn Bartlett
Publisher: SAMS
Price: $24.99
Pros: Easy to follow, loads of great tips, supporting Website.
Cons: Lack of colour, some printing errors (although these have been rectified in the Website)
Rating: 5/5

Replay

Category: other Time: 2002-11-14 Views: 2
Tags:

Related post

  • How to Teach Yourself Web Development 2015-01-22

    At the age of twelve, after discovering the "Save as Web Page" option in Microsoft Word, I started to teach myself web development. I learned HTML first, of course, and then CSS and JavaScript, and then bits and pieces of PHP and Rails. (These d

  • Code review guidelines for CSS, JS and HTML 2011-05-04

    I have been asked to create guidelines for review CSS, JS and HTML. I know there are coding guidelines for JS but I don't know any about HTML and CSS. To review JS I will certainly follow those guidelines and mention them. But what about CSS and HTML

  • Review of my CSS for aligning the navigation icons and text in a footer menu 2013-08-17

    The navigation in my footer menu looks like this It works, but I get a feeling that using spans the way I did was a bit of a hack. So I would also like to know how to maximize compatibility as used media queries. I created it using the following HTML

  • Interview - Kynn Bartlett 2002-03-13

    Kynn Bartlett wears many hats. He co-founded a successful Web design company; he is an author, an educator, and public speaker; and he's also a very witty person. Most of all though, Kynn is renowned for his expertise in Internet Accessibility. He ta

  • Practical CSS: It's Not Too Late! 2010-10-12

    We're really excited here at SitePoint. Practical CSS, the second online training course from CSS guru Russ Weakley, was launched this week. The good news is that it's not too late to join the party!Russ's previous course, CSS Live, was extremely wel

  • How long would it take to learn Python? 2011-01-30

    I have decided to take the time out after work to learn Python. Python appeals to me because at work (Web and eLearning Company), I have to follow out very repetitive tasks like delete all these tags, rename all these tasks and even more advanced rep

  • Top 10 JavaScript Books for Beginners 2012-07-11

    They say "it's better late than never!" so if you haven't looked at pure JavaScript you might want to check some out it will improve your jQuery coding and core JavaScript skills all round. If your just starting up trying to learn JavaScript, to

  • SitePoint Podcast #181: Solving More Problems Than You Create 2012-09-28

    Episode 181 of The SitePoint Podcast is now available! This week we have the full panel, Louis Simoneau (@rssaddict), Stephan Segraves (@ssegraves), Patrick O'Keefe (@ifroggy) and Kevin Dees (@kevindees). Listen in Your Browser Play this episode dire

  • Emacs tutorials and beginner questions? 2010-10-21

    I have decided to start learning Emacs. Since I completely use Linux now, Gedit was not working for me as I wanted :) Some friend recommended Emacs and that is what I want to learn. So I have two questions: How do I start learning Emacs? Which tutori

  • Where is a good place to learn how to develop games? 2010-12-25

    I'm brazilian and I want to learn how to develop a game in some college or something like that, but I don't know any place here to learn it. Here is not that good either to develop games, as we don't have many companies to do that. So, I was thinking

  • Where to start learning Illustrator 2011-01-05

    I would like to learn to use Adobe Illustrator. I want to go from start i.e learn using each tool first and then move on. Where can I find tutorials for this (Youtube is a good source). I cant afford video tutorials from Lynda. --------------Solution

  • Moving from Winforms to WPF 2011-01-25

    I am a long time experienced Windows Forms developer, but now it's time to move to WPF because a new WPF project is comming soon to me and I have only a short lead time to prepare myself to learn WPF. What is the best way for a experienced Winforms d

  • What is there in an Operating System other than the kernel 2011-08-29

    As I understand it, the kernel does all the interaction with the hardware, and manages the memory, the I/O devices, etc. So the kernel is doing everything, yet it is just a part of the operating system. So what else is there in an OS ? Just the appli

  • Most efficient way to learn java if you already know how to code? 2011-09-08

    Possible Duplicate: Is there a canonical book for learning Java as an experienced developer? I've been coding for close to 25 years now in basic, (C64 & Amiga), (Object) pascal, C, LPC and for the last few years, Python. Python is definitely my favou

  • Is there a canonical reference on GUI programming in Java? 2011-09-08

    I'm practicing Java in Netbeans. Is there a reference out there that's the de-facto standard for describing best practices, design methodologies, and other helpful information on GUI programming in Java? What about that reference makes it special? --

  • Is there a quick and practical (hands on) way to learn another programming language? 2012-11-30

    Due to rather strange circumstances, I only have until Monday to learn (at least) the basics of PHP and .NET programming. I'm already fairly competent (though there is a lot of room for improvement) in C++ so I feel I have some of the concepts nailed

  • Scrapy doen't show each link crawled with its data in my own pattern 2016-01-21

    I have the following script: #!/usr/bin/python from twisted.internet import reactor import scrapy from scrapy.crawler import CrawlerRunner from scrapy.utils.log import configure_logging from scrapy.selector import Selector from lxml import html class

  • Expedite iOS app review to less than 24 hours 2014-03-12

    Is it possible to get the app reviewed within a day or few hours? I know there is an expedited app review process if the app is time sensitive then Apple will review the app very quickly, but that also might take 1-3 days sometimes. We built an app w

  • When should you call yourself a senior developer? 2010-12-11

    Possible Duplicate: Whats the difference between Entry Level/Jr/Sr developers? I'm curious what senior developer means because apparently the definition doesn't mean what I thought it would. I keep seeing these teens at 22-23 years old who call thems

iOS development

Android development

Python development

JAVA development

Development language

PHP development

Ruby development

search

Front-end development

Database

development tools

Open Platform

Javascript development

.NET development

cloud computing

server

Copyright (C) avrocks.com, All Rights Reserved.

processed in 0.583 (s). 13 q(s)