SitePoint SEM Kit reviewed at Search Engine Watch

Chris Sherman of Search Engine Watch has written a nice review of the SitePoint SEM Kit for Search Day, which was posted last week while I was in Berkeley for the Consumer Reports Webwatch conference.

This review likens our SEM kit to the “internet in a box” kits that were on the market during the mid-90s, an analogy that sent me back in time for a bit, and very accurately describes what we were trying to accomplish.

Many thanks to Chris for taking the time to read our big book, and reintroducing the word “foofaraw” to my vocabulary with his blog post pointing to the review. Around here, we don’t say foofaraw, we say “jibba-jabba,” a term which was introduced to my vocabulary by Mr. T.

More comments soon on the Consumer Reports conference and their report on search engines’ disclosure of paid advertising… there’s a lot to sort out before I post, because it was a busy couple of days. I had a chance to meet the great Jared Spool, discuss PPC strategy with Mike Moran from IBM, and watch Barbara Coll twitch as she sat in the audience trying not to shout out the obvious.

Replay

Category: marketing Time: 2005-06-13 Views: 1
Tags:

Related post

  • Quick Review - PPC Search Engine Marketing Handbook 2005-06-15

    A few weeks ago, Boris Mordkovich was kind enough to send me a copy of his book, the "Pay Per Click Search Engine Marketing Handbook." It took me a few weeks to read it – not because it's hard to read, but because I am very very busy these days.

  • expert review of search engine - how to structure the report 2011-05-25

    I am writing a report for a client that tries to describe why their search engine is failing users. I am structuring the report like this: section 1)expert review of interface. Will include heuristics such as placement and size of search box on scree

  • The Search Engine Marketing Kit - Chapter 1 2005-04-06

    Every day, millions of people turn to their computers and look for information on the Web. And, more often than not, they use a search engine to find that information. It's estimated that more than 350 million English language Web searches are conduc

  • Inside Search Engine Strategies, 2003 2003-09-10

    Danny Sullivan's Search Engine Strategies rolled into San Jose this week, bringing an unprecedented 4 days of search engine marketing advice (SEM) and news to more than 1,700 attendees. If you still had reservations about the legitimacy of search eng

  • Search Engines Know More Than You Think 2005-05-31

    These days, every time I read another oversimplified explanation of SEO, I cringe. In one sense, it really is that simple, but in another, the complexity goes far beyond what any of us can fathom. The super-simplified version of SEO is: [list=1] [*]B

  • SitePoint Releases Search Engine Marketing Kit 2005-04-07

    Last spring, I was contacted by SitePoint about the possibility of writing a new book on SEO, similar to their existing Web Design Business Kit. I submitted a proposal, and was extremely pleased to be chosen by SitePoint as the author. Subsequent dis

  • Search Engine Year in Review - 2003 2004-01-10

    It's been a big year in the Search Engine industry, but you don't need to be an SEO expert to understand the impact the year's developments will have on the average Website. The following is a brief overview of the year's search engine events, along

  • SEM Kit 2006 Progress Report 2006-04-07

    Since I lost my best friend and business partner in December, I haven't been the most productive man in SEO- but I am back at it, and thought readers might like to know what I've been up to. First, the 2006 edition (update) of the SitePoint Search En

  • How I can optimize my websites into the search engines? 2010-07-08

    What are the best ways to increase a site's position in Google? --------------Solutions------------- Here are some rules I follow: Try not to repeat content. Try to get linked from other, relevant and high quality websites. Try to make sure your outg

  • Search Engine Optimize a photography website? 2010-07-08

    What are the best ways to increase a site's position in Google? --------------Solutions------------- Here are some rules I follow: Try not to repeat content. Try to get linked from other, relevant and high quality websites. Try to make sure your outg

  • how to allow my web site to appear on Google & Bing search engines 2010-07-08

    What are the best ways to increase a site's position in Google? --------------Solutions------------- Here are some rules I follow: Try not to repeat content. Try to get linked from other, relevant and high quality websites. Try to make sure your outg

  • How to make sub-directories appear in Google Search Engine? 2010-07-08

    What are the best ways to increase a site's position in Google? --------------Solutions------------- Here are some rules I follow: Try not to repeat content. Try to get linked from other, relevant and high quality websites. Try to make sure your outg

  • Search Engine-Friendly URLs 2001-08-10

    On today's Internet, database driven or dynamic sites are very popular. Unfortunately the easiest way to pass information between your pages is with a query string. In case you don't know what a query string is, it's a string of information tacked on

  • Search Engine Damage Control 2002-11-14

    Google and other search engines will boot anyone who uses spam tactics to get high rankings. Should marketers fear these threats? You'd better believe it. But what can be done as damage control if you suspect you've been penalized? If you believe you

  • Search Engine Optimisation for Web Developers 2003-10-13

    These days, most Website owners head to a search engine optimisation company if they want to improve search engine traffic. However, all too often, the chance of search engine success is decided long before that. Search engine compatibility is becomi

  • Get Seen The Easy Way: Simple, Practical Search Engine Promotion 2004-06-15

    Companies have paid me literally thousands of dollars to create the kind of end-to-end reporting tools that now exist with Google AdWords and Overture Conversion Tracking tools. You can leverage these tools for a $5 activation fee (Google) and a few

  • Win Back Top Listing! Protect Your Business Identity in the Search Engines 2004-11-29

    Companies go to great lengths to establish their corporate identities through marketing, advertisements, promotions, search engine positioning, and other means. And, as with any success, it may well happen that criticism follows. In the process of do

  • Turnkey Search Engine Marketing with ValueTraffic and MyEzClicks 2006-02-01

    In times past, your choices as to how to promote and drive traffic to your web site were pretty limited: you could buy 468 x 60 banner ads (no rich media allowed) on a niche site, or have the ads triggered by a keyword on search engines. Webmasters d

  • Search Engine Indexing Limits: Where Do the Bots Stop? 2006-04-28

    The SEO community boasts a multitude of different opinions as to the volume of text indexed by the search engines on a single Web page. The question is, how large should the optimized page be? At what point is the balance between a page so short that

iOS development

Android development

Python development

JAVA development

Development language

PHP development

Ruby development

search

Front-end development

Database

development tools

Open Platform

Javascript development

.NET development

cloud computing

server

Copyright (C) avrocks.com, All Rights Reserved.

processed in 0.852 (s). 13 q(s)