Visual Studio 2008 Review

I know it’s a bit late, but as promised here’s a review of Visual Studio 2008. I’ve had it for a while now, but I wanted to wait until I’d worked on a few projects with it before I offered my opinion.

Overall, it’s a solid improvement over 2005. The guys at Microsoft have made some good changes that actually improved the development experience rather than just adding a bunch of fluff. Unlike 2005, you’re not required to upgrade to the newest framework to use it, so you don’t have to upgrade to .NET 3.5 just yet. The IDE is generally a bit faster than 2005 and several of the features that were a headache for my team in 2005 have been made useful. The 2 most notable improvements were support for nested master pages in design view and a huge performance improvement in the table adapter editing interface.

One of the first things I noticed about the interface is the influence from Expression Web. There is a new split view for the designer and several new CSS helper tools. The split view has been in other products, like Dreamweaver, for ages and I have generally not found it very useful and initially, I felt the same way about the split view in Visual Studio. It really doesn’t help much when laying out your pages, but when writing code-behinds, it provides a much quick method for reviewing the layout and server control properties. The CSS tools, much like Expression, seem like they may be useful to those inexperienced with CSS, but for me they were more of a hindrance than help.

The biggest improvement is the javascript support. The support for the ASP.NET AJAX extensions is much improved, but that’s pretty much expected. What surprised me is the extensive intellisense support for javascript. It not only picks up the built-in javascript functions, it provides intellisense for any of your custom functions and variables. While my javascript skills are about average, our dedicated AJAX guy just wouldn’t shut up about how good the new javascript support is, which tells me it’s pretty solid. The new javascript debugging support is nice too, but it requires that you turn on the script debugger in IE, which makes any browsing outside of debugging your apps a pain.

Visual Studio 2008 is a nice step forward for Visual Studio. While some people were hoping for more features, the features that made it in are solid and the overall performance in improved. The javascript intellisense and debugging alone will make it worth getting for anybody working heavily with AJAX and the performance tweaks will satisfy impatient coders like me. There are a few shortcomings (it’s still a memory hog) but the improvements are well worth the upgrade.

Replay

Category: asp.net Time: 2007-12-28 Views: 1
Tags:

Related post

  • How can I get Visual Studio 2008 to align my assignment operators? 2010-02-11

    I had this in Vim and miss it dearly now that I'm confined to Visual Studio. I'd like to take this: MyType type_obj = new MyType(); MyLongerType longer_type_obj = new LongerType() To this: MyType type_obj = new MyType(); LongerType longer_type_obj =

  • Sql code help in Visual Studio 2008 2011-06-02

    I'm new to visual studio 2008, microsoft sql server 2008, little under 2 weeks now. Was hoping someone can help clean up my code. I'm using sql business intelligence development studio. This is a large database and has to pull back as least 6000+ pag

  • Visual Studio 2008 RTM Is Here! 2007-11-21

    In case you have been under a rock, shacking up or in jail or otherwise indisposed, Visual Studio 2008 RTM is here! For full details, see Scott Guthrie's official announcement. Personally, I think the most compelling new features are: Javascript inte

  • Unable to connect SQL Server instance from Visual Studio 2008 SP1 on Vista x64 2009-06-26

    I installed on a Vista x64 machine Visual Studio 2008 SP1 (with integrated SQL from the installation package) and when I try to add an MDF file to a project or to the App_Data when working with web, I get the following message: Connections to SQL Ser

  • Problem upgrading Visual Studio 2008 trial to full version 2009-07-19

    I had installed the trial version of Visual Studio 2008. I decided to uninstall it and install the licensed version I just purchased. However, no matter what I try, the installation will not change from the trial to using my new license. I have compl

  • Visual Studio 2008 kills explorer /network access when saving a file on a network drive 2009-08-21

    I used to be able to open up files on my network drives with Visual Studio 2008,edit and save them fine. I could even launch whole solutions and compile them. Just recently if I open a file up on the network map Visual studio hangs and the explorer p

  • Visual Studio 2008 Installation Hang 2009-09-09

    Windows XP. When I insert the Visual Studio 2008 DVD, 50% of my dual core Xeon CPU gets pinned by the svchost.exe process. The DVD never mounts and is never usable. This happens on multiple machines. I have found many similar issues, but only one dir

  • BizTalk 2009 Visual Studio 2008 Deployment error 2009-09-25

    I'm currently trying out BizTalk 2009 for the first time. I'm by no means a BizTalk user/expert. The installation was quite a lengthy process but sticking to the Microsoft checklist, everything installed correctly without an issue on the first try. M

  • What are the possible reasons visual studio 2008 team system would not connect to a TFS2008 server 2009-10-29

    I have Visual Studio 2008 Team System installed on my work machine. I use it to work for an offisite clients Team Foundation Server 2008. Yesterday it stopped working. E.G. I couldn't connect to TFS. On my machine I have updates disabled, I have the

  • Disable "Welcome Screen" in Windows 7 after installing Visual Studio 2008 2009-10-29

    To cut things short: - Installed Windows 7 Had welcome screen disabled by default (i.e. you turned on the machine and it booted straight into the desktop) Installed Visual Studio 2008 When booting the machine, it boots to welcome screen and waits for

  • Visual Studio 2008 does not Remember my "Default Page" for Web Sites 2009-11-04

    In Visual Studio 2008 Professional Edition, I have a recurring issue that I deal with every morning. I bring up a web site (by opening the .sln file) and it fails to remember my "start action" from the last time I worked with the site. Other dev

  • Is it possible to run Visual Studio 2008 on a mini laptop? 2010-01-04

    Is it possible to run Visual Studio 2008 on a mini laptop? Procesor: Intel Atom N270 1.6GHz Memory: 1GB DDR2 HD: 160GB SATA --------------Solutions------------- Definitely possible. I've run it on a netbook before, and even though it wasn't exactly t

  • Setting for Visual Studio 2008 to show more Recent Projects 2010-01-04

    Is is possible to tweak Visual Studio 2008 to show more than the 6 default Recent Projects? --------------Solutions------------- Go into Tools -> Options and under Environment/General you have Recent files group box. Second text box (_ items shown in

  • Where is the .exe file for a C program in Visual Studio 2008? 2010-01-05

    How come there's is no exefile if you rightclick under you're project and choose Open folder in Windows Explorer and there is no .exe file not under Debug or projectdirectory? --------------Solutions------------- Here are a couple steps that should h

  • Visual Studio 2008 SP1 on 30" Monitor 2010-01-14

    Visual Studio 2008 SP1 runs really slow on my 30" Monitor, is anyone else having this issue or have a fix for this? What I mean by runs slow, is when I scroll or start typing something, it takes a little while for it to respond. When I put it on my s

  • Will Visual Studio 2008 work on Windows 7 Home Premium (64 bit)? 2010-02-09

    I would like to know whether Visual Studio 2008 works on Windows 7 Home Premium (64 bit). I am specific about the 64 bit Home Premium version of Windows 7. Regards, Naveen Jose --------------Solutions------------- Yes. It works. I run VS 2008 in my H

  • Visual Studio 2008 - HTML editing freezes the IDE 2010-02-15

    I have Visual Studio 2008 and recently, whenever I start editing a HTM or HTML page, the IDE freezes. I then need to end the process via the process explorer. I have uninstalled Resharper and reinstalled VS2008 but no luck. Any other ideas that do no

  • Visual Studio 2008 Debugger really slow with SSD 2010-02-21

    My setup is a laptop with Windows 7 64-bit, Visual Studio 2008 SP1 on an Intel X25-M 4 GB SSD with page file turned off (no need) and 2.2 GHz Core Duo. What happens is weird: When I build my project and attach the debugger the symbols load REALLY slo

  • Why does my computer keep rebooting when running Visual Studio 2008? 2010-03-04

    Everytime we run visual studio 2008 - our computer restarts. The error we are getting in the event log is as below. error code 000000f4 parameter1 00000003 parameter2 85b0ada0 parameter3 85b0af14 parameter4 805d13b6 Tried everything - from OS upgrade

iOS development

Android development

Python development

JAVA development

Development language

PHP development

Ruby development

search

Front-end development

Database

development tools

Open Platform

Javascript development

.NET development

cloud computing

server

Copyright (C) avrocks.com, All Rights Reserved.

processed in 0.427 (s). 13 q(s)